All You Need is 30 Minutes for This Recipe

During the school year, I work around 20-25 hours a week on top of taking at least 15 hours of classes. This doesn’t leave a ton of time for cooking. When I look for things to cook, the most important factor is how long it will take. There’s nothing worse than coming home from work at 5PM and cooking something that takes 2 hours to make. At that point, I’m just going to eat out for dinner. Another thing I look for is the number of ingredients. I get turned off by recipes with 10+ ingredients, especially when they’re not things I would already have in my kitchen. I don’t want to have to buy a bunch of ingredients that I’m only going to use when making one certain recipe, because odds are it’s going to go bad before I can even use it.

With that being said, my favorite recipes are ones that can be done in one pot or skillet. That’s why this one pot lemon-herb chicken & rice recipe is my absolute favorite! It takes about 30 minutes to make, which is awesome when you have a busy schedule like mine. There are 5 ingredients, making it easy on the wallet. I’m a huge fan of any recipes with lemon in it.

One thing I noticed when making this recipe is that if you use brown rice, be aware of the cook time. This recipe calls for the rice to cook for 20-25 minutes, which isn’t enough time for your standard brown rice. I made it with Kroger brand brown rice and had to leave it cooking for about 15 minutes longer than the directions, which dried out the chicken. I would strongly advise using white rice or instant brown rice. I also like my food with a little kick to it, so I added a tablespoon of crushed red pepper flakes to the chicken broth.

If you’re looking for a quick, cheap, and delicious recipe, definitely give this one a try!

one-pot-lemon-chicken-rice-21

Leave a Reply

